Picture
Tammy was really showing off what a chilled and confident bun she is. She didnt seem at all phased by the viewing public, she happily muched away on hay and pellets, occassionally climbing up the bars to have a peek at what was going on and coming to me for strokes.
I was very concerned that the show might be stressful for her but I know now shes got the temperament to deal with it, I do wish it wasn't quite such a long day for her though. I found it rather long too admitantly!
Rabbit shows are not ideal for all bunnies in my opinion, if your bunny is especially nervous in a home environment, I believe a show may be a bit too much for a delicate natured wabbit.

Overall myself and family had a very nice day, despite the rain! lol. I learnt a lot and really bent the ear of one judge, poor guy! I now feel I have a much better idea of where I want to go with my breeding plans and that mini lops really are the breed for me!

I still feel that some pet standard bunnies are cuter looking than show bunnies as show rabbits tend to have the extreme traits and all look a little samey. I cant help but love a mini lop with long ears or a butterfly with 'unstandardised' markings! It really isn't all about showing for me and I will always keep both types, pet standard and showing standard.

I think now though that id like to focus on blues, lilacs and fawns/creams. These seem to be very 'new' colours when it comes to mini lops. Id like to think i may be able to produce a butterfly that meets BRC standards too one day :)


Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.

    Bunnies of Mortimer Blog

    Comments &
    Feedback very 
    welcome! :D